Ayanda Jiya
Ayanda Jiya 201901-15 .JPG
Background information
Birth nameSibongile Ayanda Sizwesiyanda Jiya[1]
Also known asAyanda Jiya, AJ
Born (1987-06-18) 18 June 1987 (age 33)
Klerksdorp, North West, South Africa[2]
OriginJohannesburg, South Africa
  • Singer
  • songwriter
  • musician
  • Vocals
Years active2010–present
  • / (currently)
Associated acts

Sibongile Ayanda Sizwesiyanda Jiya (born 18 June 1987) known professionally as Ayanda Jiya, is a South African singer, songwriter and record producer, born and raised in klerksdorp, North West.[4] Ayanda Jiya was under TinismDotc0m in 2010,[5] then left to establish her co-owned label, Ayandastand Music which has now partnered up with Zephbeats Studios. she rose to fame when she released her breakout single, Go Go Girl (2014), which got a nominated for "Best R&B" single at the 14th Metro FM Music Awards.[6]

Ayanda Jiya released her first EP, V.I.C (Very Intimate Conversations) (2014) which respectively produced the single including Go Go Girl and Wrecking My Brain. The EP was put down from all streaming and digital platforms when Ayanda Jiya left TinismDotc0m[7] in 2015. In 2017, Ayanda Jiya met up with Simphiwe Mhlongo known professionally as Zeph/Zephbeats, who is co-founder and owner of Zephbeats Studios.[8] They teamed and then released her second EP To Whom It May Concern, which went Number 1 on iTunes and Google Play on the day of release.[9]

As for 2019, Ayanda Jiya released her debut album "AYANDASTAND" on 8 August.[10] She teamed up with long-time collaborator A-Reece on the album's first single titled "Falling For You".[11]

Life and career

Early life and career beginnings

Ayanda Jiya originates from Klerksdorp, a city in the North West Province. She always had a burning desire for music and singing. She is influenced by a lot of genres, mostly Gospel, Jazz, Neo Soul and RnB. With a family who supported her talent, Ayanda was nurtured in the comfort of her home to become a musician and a songwriter. In 2007 she met Magalela Mtshali aka Wax Lyrikal a rapper and beat maker, when he heard her sing he was inspired to create beats well suited for her vocal range and they began working together. Later that year, she finally recorded her very first song entitled "Rescue Me". He loved her vocal ability and started working closely with her and they recorded more songs together. In 2010, Wax introduced Ayanda to TinismDotc0m. Michael Sathekge and Wax created more beats for her and let her write over them. Later on that year, she released a single titled "Don't Let Me Go" Produced by Wax Lyrikal. That was the official song she had recorded at TinismDotc0m and right after that she wrote another song entitled "1m Grateful" produced by Dotcom. Ayanda Jiya later released another single titled "Happier Alone", from there on continued to work on her EP titled Very Intimate Conversations (V.I.C) which was released in 2014. The lead single "Go Go Girl" granted her a nomination for the 'Best R&B Single' at the 14th Metro Fm Awards. The nomination got her Because of her recognized Internationally and the year of 2016 she was granted to perform in Sri Lanka performing in their Capital City Colombo at their annual Jazz Festival.[12]

CHECK THIS ALSO:  Erigga Biography

Growth and independence

In 2015 Ayanda Jiya parted ways with label, TinismDotc0m and took a break from the music scene. After her two-year break from the music scene Ayanda decided to go independent and start her own record label, "Ayandastand Music". In the same year former label member Ginger Trill, introduced Ayanda to Record Producer/Sound Engineer Simphiwe Mhlongo who's referred to by Zeph/Zephbeats. Zephbeats, who has worked with the likes of Riky Rick, Stogie T and A-Reece joined ventures with Ayandastand Music to form a partnership.[13] Together they worked on Ayanda Jiya's 2nd EP 'To Whom It May Concern', which went Number 1 on iTunes and Google Play on the day of release on 8 June 2017. On Valentines Day 2019 Ayanda Jiya released her first single from her debut album title; ‘Falling For You’ featuring A-Reece. This is not the first time Ayanda and A-Reece have collaborated on a song, their creative chemistry in studio seems to be a match made in heaven. On working with A-Reece, Ayanda says; "A-Reece really understands my creative abilities. Working with him was so easy and ideas were flowing. He is an exceptional artist and I have so much respect for him". The single ‘Falling For You’ is a love song that is set to be an anthem for new and old lovers alike. Ayanda's debut project titled 'AYANDASTAND' dropped on 8 August 2019 and debuted at number on iTunes and Google Play on the day of release.[14] Guest features on the album are from Stogie T, Ziyon and Naomi Parchment.[15] The album is musically directed and produced and mixed by Producer/Sound Engineer Zephbeats, who has been working close with her since 2017.[16]

CHECK THIS ALSO:  Wizkid Biography

Ayanda has now worked with many artists in the country, featuring on Lady Zamar's platinum selling album King Zamar.[17] She also appears on A-Reece's second studio album From Me to You And Only You,[18] Stogie T's Honey And Pain Mixtape,[19] Flame's CandyMan album,[20] Ralf Gum's Progression album,[21] Ginger Trill's Gang Tapes EP[22] and Sir LSg's Moving Circle album[23]



Album Title Album Details

Extended Play

Album Title Album Details
To Whom It May Concern[26]
  • Released: 8 June 2017
  • Label: Ayandastand Music/Zephbeats Studios
  • Formats: Digital download

Awards and nominations

Year Award Ceremony Prize Work/Recipient Result
2015 14th Metro FM Music Awards Best R&B Single[27] Nominated


  1. ^ "Archived copy". Archived from the original on 20 September 2019. Retrieved 20 September 2019.CS1 maint: archived copy as title (link)
  2. ^ "Ayanda Jiya".
  3. ^ "Ayanda Jiya: On a quest to save RNB".
  4. ^ "Archived copy". Archived from the original on 20 September 2019. Retrieved 22 September 2019.CS1 maint: archived copy as title (link)
  5. ^ "Exclusive with record label TinismDotCom". 20 March 2014.
  6. ^ "14th Metro FM Music Awards nominees announced". 26 January 2015.
  7. ^ "PressReader.com - Your favorite newspapers and magazines". www.pressreader.com.
  8. ^ "Frequency Mag_JanDec_Behind the Scenes Issue Frequency Mag_JanDec_Behind the Scenes Issue_Final".
  9. ^ "Ayanda Jiya to Drop to Whom It May Concern EP". 30 May 2017.
  10. ^ "Listen to Ayanda Jiya's Debut Album 'Ayandastand' Featuring A-Reece, Stogie T, Ziyon and Naomi Parchment". 8 August 2019.
  11. ^ Staff, HYPE (14 February 2019). "Ayanda Jiya Drops New 'Falling For You' Love Song Ft. A-Reece [Listen]". Hype Magazine.
  12. ^ "Getting the jazz and blues out of her was easy | the Sunday Times Sri Lanka".
  13. ^ "Meet Ayanda Jiya, the South African R&B Singer You Should be Listening to". 29 April 2019.
  14. ^ "Ayanda Jiya drops her debut album".
  15. ^ "PressReader.com - Your favorite newspapers and magazines". www.pressreader.com.
  16. ^ "Ayanda Jiya Reveals the Tracklist & Artwork for Her Debut Album "Ayandastand"".
  17. ^ "King Zamar by Lady Zamar". Genius.
  18. ^ "Starlights (Feat. Ayanda Jiya) by A-Reece".
  19. ^ "Honey and Pain by Stogie T". Genius.
  20. ^ "DOWNLOAD MP3: Flame – Don't Bother Ft. Ayanda Jiya (CandyMan Album)". 30 June 2019.
  21. ^ "Ralf GUM – Progressions (2019, CD)" – via www.discogs.com.
  22. ^ "Gvng Tapes - EP by Ginger Trill". Genius.
  23. ^ "GOGO Music Releases - Sir LSG feat. Ayanda Jiya - Sandcastle".
  24. ^ "Listen to Ayanda Jiya's Debut Album 'Ayandastand' Featuring A-Reece, Stogie T, Ziyon and Naomi Parchment". OkayAfrica. 8 August 2019.
  25. ^ "Ayandastand by Ayanda Jiya" – via music.apple.com.
  26. ^ "REVIEW: Ayanda Jiya - To Whom It May Concern". 15 June 2017.
  27. ^ "Details of Ahmed Kathradas Funeral Arrangements".

External links

CHECK THIS ALSO:  Pamela Badjogo Biography